Skilled Nominated Visa (190)

Skilled Nominated Visa (190)

Home » Visa Options » Skilled Migration » Skilled Nominated Visa (190)


Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190)

This visa is for skilled workers seeking to be sponsored by a state or territory government. Under this pathway, the nomination by a state or territory awards you an extra 5 points towards the point test. 

Each State and Territory has its own list of occupations in demand and its own eligibility criteria, as well as the applicants obligations towards the state or Territory.

This visa will allow you to work and live in Australia permanently; however, you are restricted to live in the state or territory for a  minimum of two years.

Applicants for  this  visa first  need to submit an Expression of Interest (EOI) online aiming to be invited to apply. Once you have been invited to apply, you must be able to satisfy the basic visa requirements to qualify for a visa in the General Skilled Migration program.


  • Have nominated an occupation that is on the relevant skilled occupations list;
  • Have obtained a suitable skills assessment in the nominated skilled occupation;
  • Be at least 18 years of age and younger than 45 years of age;
  • Have at least competent English language ability;
  • Be nominated by a State or Territory Government agency;
  • Meet the points test pass mark of 65 points;
  • Meet certain health and character requirements.

Applicants are assessed against the points test in the following areas:

  • Age
  • English language ability
  • Australian and overseas skilled work experience
  • Australian & International qualifications
  • Australian study requirements
  • Credentialed community language qualifications
  • Regional Australian study
  • Spouse skill qualifications
  • Professional year in Australia
  • State or Territory Nomination